The 2017 Grove City College Senior Man and Woman of the Year awards were presented, respectively, to Jordan Coiro ’17 and Maddie Van Dyke ’17 during Thursday’s Recognition Convocation in Harbison Chapel on campus.

The awards are among the highest honors that the College can bestow on students and presented jointly by the leadership honoraries Mortar Board and Omicron Delta Kappa. Selections are made on the basis of scholarship, leadership and service and the candidates are voted on by students and faculty.

Van Dyke, of Fleming Island, Fl., is a Biology major. She is a member of the varsity swim and cross country teams. She started and participated in Women of Faith, a mentoring program for female students on campus. Van Dyke is also a member of the Crimson and White Society, ODK and Mortar Board. She serves as Physician Assistant Ambassador for the Pre-Health Society. As a member of that team, she collected research about cancer cells and presented her findings at the Penn State Behrend Sigma Xi Undergraduate Research Conference.

“I have known Maddie since freshman year, and she has been nothing short of a blessing to me since then,” fellow senior Alycia Bini ’17 wrote in nominating Van Dyke. “Her character is one that is unmatched by many others. Maddie has continually pointed me toward Christ and encouraged me to always do my best. Rarely does anyone leave Maddie’s presence without a smile on their face and joy in their hearts. Her impact is visible through the example her life is to those around her.”

Other finalists for Woman of the Year were: Emily El Senadi ’17, Molly Gallant ’17, Amanda Hutzelmann ’17, Sarah Markley’17 and Kaylee Strawhun ’17.

Coiro, of Mentor, Ohio, is a Mechanical Engineering major. Coiro has been a member of the Student Government Association and serves as the senior class president. For the past four years, he has held various positions in the Society of Automotive Engineers. He has also been a member of the Student-Faculty Review Committee, Recognition Convocation Committee and Religious Activities Committee. He has served as a mechanical engineering machine shop assistant and as an independent researcher for Dr. Erik Anderson.  For the past two years, he has been a Resident Assistant. He is a member of Omicron Delta Kappa and was the recipient of both the ODK Freshman Leadership Award and the Kring Leadership Award.

“Jordan Coiro has exemplified academic excellence in his major and has also left a legacy of service as an RA, as a member of the Religious Activities Committee, and in his service at church, among other commitments. I think he is well-known among his peers as a man of character,” Alex Watt ’18 wrote in nominating Coiro.

Other finalists for Man of the Year were: Ryan Buchalter, James Leach, Zachary Pitcher, Dale Reese and Lee Wishing IV.

The names of the award winners are recorded for posterity on a memorial plaque on a boulder outside Harbison Chapel. Former recipients of this prestigious honor have gone on to become leaders in faith, education, business, law, health care and other fields.